COOS Results


Many thanks to Frank Washburn, Gavin Clark and Ann Stallman who, along with your reporter (Wendy Hearder-Moan), created the OSRBG display for the COOS Show, a display that earned a second place ribbon. The same team, augmented by Jocelyn Webber, dismantled the display on Sunday evening. Thanks also to everyone who contributed plants for the display; without them, there would be no display!

Linda Will and Peter and Sherry Decyk won “Best in class” ribbons for, respectively, Best Paphiopedilum: Paph Iona (fairrieanum x bellatulum) and Best Laeliinae, other than Cattleya: Epidendrum diffusum.

Plants from the RBG greenhouse were awarded ribbons as follows:

  • Cattleya bowringiana  – 2nd;
  • Cattleya bowringiana (another one) – 3rd
  • Cattleya maxima – 2nd
  • Cattleya maxima (another one) – 3rd
  • Epidendrum ciliare – 3rd
  • Phragmipedium Cardinale ‘Kilworth’ AM/AOS – 3rd

Congratulations to the members whose plants were awarded ribbons, as follows:

Ben Boers

  • Rth. (Potinara Free Spirit x Lc Golden Tangerine) – 2nd
  • Miltassia Dark Star ‘Orchid Works’ – 3rd
  • Paph niveum – 3rd

Gretta Culley

  • Phalaenopsis hybrid (pink, no name) – 3rd
  • Phalaeniopsis hybrid (cream, no name) – 3rd
  • Phragmipedium Hanne Popow (besseae var. flava x schlimii) – 3rd

Peter and Sherry Decyk

  • Epidendrum diffusum – 1st and Best in Class
  • Aerides quinquevulneris – 1st
  • Cattleya Golden Tang – 1st
  • Cattleya skinneri ‘Debbie’ FCC/AOS – 1st
  • Cattleya Peckaviensis (aclandiae x schilleriana) – 3rd

Wendy Hearder-Moan

  • Phalaenopsis hybrid (pink, no name) – 3rd

Pat and Linda Vuurman

  • Phragmipedium Calurum (longifolium x schlimii) – 2nd
  • Cymbidium sinense – 3rd

Jocelyn Webber

  • Paphiopedilum spicerianum – 1st
  • Phragmipedium Mini Grande (humboldtii x pearcei) – 2nd
  • Phragmipedium Jason Fischer (Mem. Dick Clements x besseae) – 2nd
  • Vanda Sensi Blue – 3rd

Linda Will

  • Paphiopedilum Iona (fairrieanum x bellatulum) – 1st and Best in Class (pictured above)
  • Paphiopedilum (Hampshire Zoo x Winston Churchill) – 1st
  • Paphiopedilum Rosy Dawn (Astarte x Gwen Hannen) – 2nd
  • Phragmipedium Acker’s Royalty (Twilight x fischeri) – 2nd
  • Paphiopedilum Wossner Godeem (leuchochilum x emersonii) – 3rd